The Plainfield Symphony - Pautza/Johnson Encore

 ,   Add to calendar
 716 Watchung Ave Plainfield NJ 07060  See map

Plainfield Symphony Presents: Pautza/Johnson Encore Celebration

We proudly welcome back our very own Conductor Emeritus Sabin Pautza as he celebrates 70 years of life, and soloist Christopher Johnson to Plainfield for
our third concert of the season on February 9th, 2013. Maestro Pautza will present his own composition Prometheus, followed by Brahms powerful Symphony No.4. The concert will conclude with Rachmaninoff’s
Piano Concerto No 2
, showcasing Johnson’s amazing virtuosity.

Sabin Pautza has been widely recognized as a conductor, composer, and teacher in his native Romania, and in Europe. In 1988 the Romanian-born composer and conductor, began what would become a twenty-year
career with the Symphony as musical director and conductor.

 Among his own compositions premiered with the Plainfield
Symphony was the Rita Dove Triptych, setting poems of this U.S. poet laureate to music; the excitement of the new music plus the appearance of the poet herself drew an overflow crowd. Pautza also composed and conducted the
“Saxophone Concerto” in 1997 and premiered the cantata “Ode to Hope” for the 80th anniversary of the Plainfield Symphony. Upon stepping down in 2007, Maestro Pautza became conductor emeritus of the Symphony.

The evening continues with Brahms powerful Symphony
No. 4
the last of his symphonies. Brahms began working on this piece in 1884, just a year after completing his Symphony No. 3, and completed it in 1885. This final symphony was enthusiastically received when he conducted it himself at the premier in Meiningen.

Rachmaninoff's romantic Piano Concerto No. 2, rounds out this winter celebration, featuring the critically acclaimed and previous artist-in-residence soloist Christopher Johnson. This piece is one of Rachmaninoff's most enduringly popular pieces, and established his fame as a concerto composer.

Tickets for the 2012-2013 concerts are now on sale
and can be purchased via PayPal on our website, www.plainfieldsymphony.org. For a brochure, please call (908)561-5140. Concerts are held at the Crescent
Avenue Presbyterian Church located at 716 Watchung Avenue, Plainfield and begin at 7pm.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »